You have 2 years from the date of your injury to file an Ohio personal
injury claim. Delaying legal action could impact your ability to recover
damages that you may be entitled to. So if you have suffered serious injuries,
it would be in your best interest to consult with
a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible.
Some cases take longer to process, so the longer you wait, the more hurtful
it could be. By moving quickly, your claim can be better protected. Although
you have 2 years, there is a law in Ohio that could affect when the statute
of limitations begins. This is the “discovery law” and it
applies to cases where an injury may not be immediately evident.
Under this law you can pursue legal action from the time your injury was
actually discovered, even if it was after the statute of limitations.
For instance, if you underwent surgery and suffered complications, it
may appear that it was related to the procedure.
However, more than 2 years later, you may eventually discover that the
surgeon left a surgical tool inside you. If this was the actual cause
for your injury, the discovery rule may come into play and you will still
be able to file a personal injury claim.
Seeking Legal Help from an Ohio Personal Injury Lawyer
If you have suffered severe injury or have lost a loved one in an accident
in Cleveland or surrounding areas, it is important that you act quickly
to protect your rights.
Contact us today at (440) 333-3800 for a free consultation.